Sunday, February 27, 2005

The Oscars, The Grouch

Note: links ought to work now. Let's hope it sticks. If it says Hilary Swank but you get a picture of Paul Giamatti, it's not my fault, I've tried many times to make it work.

Thoughts Upon Watching a 5 Minute Segement of the Academy Awards


...in which Beyonce whored herself (19th century-style!) and ultimately mucked up 'Learn to Be Lonely'.

Now as anyone who knows us here at Gunning knows how we feels about the recent film version of the Phantom of the Opera. They know that, the few issues--concerning Patrick Wilson's foppish hair and Emmy's difficulty in hitting a few notes or nuances and her very real need to eat a sammich or two--aside, we loved the movie, music, booby-licious costumes and the whole kit and kaboodle. Now, upon hearing that Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber had his newly-composed song 'Learn to Be Lonely' (a part of the movie's soundtrack,) was nominated for best new song, there was varying amounts of joy and confetti which were only a little bitter because no costume or acting nominations followed suit. Upon hearing later that the said song was to be performed at the Oscars, there was again varying amounts of joy and celebratory pie.

Then I actually watched the segment.

Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?

Beyonce, it appears, was chosen to sing the song, for reason that are unclear to this author. If they were trying to make her out to be a Christine-figure, they failed utterly. According to different interpretations based on the original book, movie, and musical, there is always arguments over Christine's being blonde or brunette. (Book-Christine is blonde, Movie/Musical-Christine is brunette. Seeing as she's Swedish, I'd go with the blonde, logically, but I just cannot face blonde heroines so I prefer the brunette version.) But even I know that Christine is not black. No way, no how. This is not racism. Think about it: in the mid-late 1800's, would anyone hire a black woman to work as a chorus girl in a prestigious opera house, much less promote said girl to the status of leading diva soprano? In the name of equality, I must say that, sadly, white chicks were all you saw on stage. Even if there was a black character, usually they were portrayed by Caucasian people who rubbed coal or something on their faces.
But back to Beyonce.
So she's wearing a dress in filmy layers of black in a bell-skirt style that one would assume is a modern take on an old-fashioned classical style. And you'd be right if it weren't for the necklines that plunges beyond all reason. I know that boobies on display weren't exactly taboo back in the day, but the neckline just didn't work with the rest of the dress. It's like trying to match a baseball cap with a Scarlett O'Hara getup.
Thankfully we are spared a full view of Beyonce's considerable charms because she is positively dripping with various diamonds and spangles which are frickin' huge. We assume this is a take-off from the Swaovski crystal stage jewelery worn by Christine during the movie. Unfortunately for Beyonce, this just looks as if the ill-fated chandelier happened to fall directly upon her. No worries, folks, she's not hurt or anything! She just picked herself up, brushed away some of the dust, re-arranged the shattered light fixture pieces around her face, neck and shoulders, and off she went to the Oscars!
Now, in general, that is all that's wrong with her appearance, aside from one final teeny-tiny issue. Hey eyes. Beyonce, honey...I don't know what happened! Neither do you, apparently. But here's my hypothesis:
Beyonce, on her way to the Academy Awards in her sporty, sexy little automobile, finds herself alone on the side of the highway with something wrong under the hood. Being the empowered, independant woman that she is, instead of flagging down help, she hitches up her Vera Wang and goes to work on her carburetor. She finally locates the problem, fixes it, and as a last touch, checks her oil before she slams the hood, wipes her sweaty brow with her hand, then returns to the driver's seat and roars off to the Oscars.
Honey...it's called an oil rag. Learn how to use it. Also: checking in the mirror beforeyou trip lightly out onto the stageis a good idea. The smears of motor oil gracing your eyelids does nothing for your image. We all KNOW you are a dirty black woman. (Not that black women are dirty. Beyonce just happens to be black as WELL as dirty. Metaphorically dirty. See: Beyonce's videos and elastic bands masquerading as her tube skirts and tops.) Anyway, hon, your makeup does not necessarily have to be your mission statement.

Small side note: Tech-crew member garbed in a half-mask and black cape put in place to pointlessly lead Beyonce down the stairs then make an angsty, cape-swirling exit 30 seconds later. She can change a tire, ladies and gentlemen, but can she traverse the trechery that is stairs all by her lonesome? Apparently not.

How can I find so much rage within a 5-minute segment? I have no idea. I know that later in the program, Mr. Birthday Boy Josh Groban will be performing "Believe" along with Miss Knowles. This depresses me so much that I have a 50/50 chance of actually making myself sit through it. On the one hand, it's Josh Groban. On the other, it's Beyonce. I can't decide if he is irrepairably sullied by her presence or if she is to be canonized by his influence.

(At this point, Em typed an amazingly witty segment which she somehow inadvertantly deleted and will now try to recreate. The bloom has gone off the rose, somewhat.)
So Beyonce might have been able to pull if off if she hadn't been off-key and trying to make it sound sombre by being a half-note flat and making hand motions reserved for gospel choirs. Poor Josh stood stricken, clutching his mic for dear life and trying to maintain his aura of hope and innocence in the simple joy of Christmas while Beyonce looked ready to bust out the booty-licious moves. Also, just when you thought her dress choices couldn't digress from horrid to disastrous, she proves us wrong. She shaved the scales off a trout and stitched it into a clingy sheath. Sequins weren't even hot in the 80's when they were fashionable. No one looks good in sparkly clothing. Plus...I have only ever seen eyes like this on stuffed deerheads mounted on walls.

So long as I'm ranting about dresses: Hilary Swank: Honey, for a second, I was so proud of you. I saw you sitting there, gearing yourself up to win Best Actress, and I thought "Wow. She looks so nice! Her hair is in a nice simple elegant style, and she's wearing a high-necked, long sleeved, floorlength navy blue dress. She looks like she's put on a few pounds, and she has yet deigned to cover up her sternum which may not yet be ready for public viewing. Her jawline is less abrasive and she's not smiling too widely and she looks downright feminine! I just love it when people accept their genders and are radiant!" Then she stood up and turned around. My eyeballs, upon viewing all of her shoulders, back, waist, hips, and a large expanse of her upper behind retreated into my nasal cavity and my left pupil tried to bail out my ear canal. A few minutes, a commercial break, and several close-up shots of Kate Winslet in a tasteful, lovely bright blue gown, my eyeballs managed to crawl back to the forefront of my skull, where they proceeded to get watery as Jamie Foxx rambled about his grandmother and his dreams.

P.S. Is this woman kneeling or standing?
P.P.S. And WHY do Clive Owen's date's always do this? WHY?
P.P.S. It's comforting to know that if MJ ever bails on us, we have this guy to give us our dosage of feminine-man-ness.

|

Wednesday, February 23, 2005

OMG WE'RE UNDER CONSTRUCTION!!!!1!!1!!!

NOW, AGAINST MY BETTER JUDGEMENT, I'VE BEEN SCREWING WITH THE FONTS ON THIS MOFO. IN CASE YOU HADN'T NOTICED, RECENTLY ALL POSTS HAVE BEEN INEXPLICABLY IN CAPS. SO I SWITCHED IT, SOMEHOW, TO ALL LOWER CASE. I CANNOT TELL IF THIS IS BETTER OR WORSE BUT I AM TYPING THIS ENTIRE POST WITH MY CAPSLOCK KEY INTENTIONALLY ON IN ORDER TO SEE IF IT HAS ANY EFFECT ON THE CHRONIC LOWER-CASE/UPPER-CASE BATTLE WE ARE WAGING. IF ANYONE KNOWS ANY WAY TO GO BACK TO THE HAPPY TIME WHERE CAPITALS ONLY APPEARED WHEN WE PRESSED THE SHIFT KEY AND MANUALLY INSERTED THEM, PLEASE LET US KNOW. HOPEFULLY THINGS WILL BE BACK TO NORMAL SOON, AND WE CAN FREELY POST WITHOUT LOOKING LIKE A KINDERGARTENER WHO DOESN'T KNOW CAPITALS YET OR SOME SCARY KIDNAPPER WRITING A RANSOM NOTE ALL IN CAPS. (BESIDES, EVERYONE KNOWS KIDNAPPERS USE CUT-OUT LETTERS FOR RANSOM NOTES.) I ALSO DON'T WANT TO KNOW WHAT MIGHT HAPPEN IF IT TURNS INTO HACKER-SPEAK WITH EVERY SECOND LETTER LOWERCASE AND EVERY OTHER LETTER UPPRCASE. IF THAT EVER OCCURS, YOU CAN SAFELY ASSUME THAT I'VE ATROPHIED AFTER DAYS IN FRONT OF MY COMPUTER AND AM AT PRESENT TRYING TO BREAK THROUGH THE FBI'S FIREWALL AND ANY EXPOSURE TO NATURAL LIGHT WILL PROMPT A SWIFT AND DEADLY ALLERGIC REACTION.


HIIIIIIIIIIIIIIVES...


{Later: OMFG I'M A GENIUS! Lookit all the capitals and little letters! Only where I want them! Look! ---> I aM nOt A hAcKeR, tHaNk GoD, oR i'D hAvE a SeRiOuS cAsE oF cArPaL tUnNeL sYnDrOmE...aNd TyPiNg LiKe ThIs WoUlD mAkE mE wAnT tO eAt My OwN hEaD, tO bOoT!}

|

Tuesday, February 22, 2005

Gunning Gone AWOL

Hey y'all, I (Em) will not likely be updating much within the next few days as I have gone to Musical Theatre to kick ass and rock out on stage. If I have any time in which I am not performing, sleeping, or doing schoolwork, any and all writing I do will be relegated to me trying to update my Phantom story on fanfiction.net because I've made a new rule at Jackie's suggestion which in future will hopefully speed up my posting on ff.net but for now it has slowed me down because one day of delay in writing costs me that and more in posting speeds. This rule consists of me not posting any chapter on ff.net until I have at least the next two chapters written. Meaning, you will not see chapter 3 until chapter 5 is done. I cannot do this for my blogs as it will drive me mad, so this applies to fanfiction only. Blogs will be intermittent and whenever I can afford time to update. Therefore I leave any updating here to Jackie for the time being (don't worry she is very entertaining and Russian,) and AtP and the Chronicles of Sad will lie dormant for at least a week while I recover. (AtP will be updated more likely than the CoS because the CoS are just funny short things I put in whenever I have the time or inclination, so don't expect to see a lot of new updates on the CoS, especially not in the near future. I know Helena needs to take us all on a little trip to the Land of Backstory in order for us to get and insider's view of the Axis, and I have at least a paragraph started there, but please, the fanfiction needs my attention for now, also before Ruth hurts me for the delaying there. I also need to re-tool chapter three because I have Erik saying and doing things that are normally reserved for weepy old men, who sit in a dim corner holding an empty beer glass, mourning their pasts. Erik is none of these things. He must be cold, heartless, a ruthless killer (hee. Ruth-less.) except I tend to think he's mellowed after the Christine Fiasco. He's lonely, yes, a genius, yes, with a tender side if someone--anyone--woulkd love him, yes; but that is still a far cry in my mind from him sitting down with a tub of Ben and Jerry's while he sniffles over "An Affair to Remember" while he talks to his cat who's name is Muffin about how women are so confusing and Christine sent him mixed signals. (Don't tell me she is NOT the Past Mistress in the Art of Wishy-Washy-ness. She'll totally make out with Mr. Questionable Sideburns at the drop of hat and then turn around five minutes later and get her mack on with the Phantom of the Hotness. Then she insults both by pretending the hang-ups here are emotional and connected to her deep-seated "Daddy issues." Yeah--and I gave birth to a muskrat name Pierre.)
Anyhow I'll be back in a few days.
And thank you to the Anonymous Commentor! You have made my (our?) day(s?)! We need you and more of your kind to leave comments! I prefer the anonymous one to the ones from people I know, because the people I know are in a headlock from me who is shoving my writing down their throats and then extracting a compliment from their bums.

|

Wednesday, February 16, 2005

The Penis Soliloquy—Em’s Answer to the Vagina Monologues

Okay teenage boys, you insolent little shits, hear me out.


Penis. There. I’ve said it. Penis penis penis penis penis. A funny little word for a funny little thing. (Yes, it CAN be massive, compared to, say, a toothpick or even a cocktail wiener—no pun intended—on a cold day. Now shut up and listen.) See, this rant started in my mind after an odd conversation over lunch involving older people, namely grandparents, having sex. Needless to say, any and all lunching ended shortly thereafter. But what’s the hang-up? Grandparental, (and even parental) lovin’ is a lot more common than we prefer to think. The next time Gran’ma’s takin’ out her teeth and Gran’pa’s poppin’ his ‘heart pills’ (read: you know they’re Viagra) like they was Pez…while you’re just trying not to listen to the bedspring squeaking as they take their afternoon ‘nap.’


Now on to the main body of my rant.


Boys: If you’re going to crack jokes about Viagra, be prepared to handle the real issues that pop up. (Har.) Viagra is there for a reason: to treat erectile dysfunctions, which tend to plague the elderly generation. Face it, there IS sex after 40, and copious amounts of it too, given the amount of middle-aged mothers giving birth we’re seeing in the news. (*cough*Madona*cough*)I remember a story in a magazine from someone’s grandmother named Cornelia, who was over 80, and yet she admitted she had a very active sex life. Now if you care to discuss the reality of this, go ahead and comment. If the idea makes you ill, please reconsider the next time you think to yourself "Dude, I could totally make an awesome jokes involving dicks and Viagra right now! Because DICKS are so funny, and they are even FUNNIER when they DON’T WORK! Guh-huh-huh-huh-yuk-yuk-yuk!"


Proceed with caution.


Because if you breathe a word of what you’re thinking, I will be on you faster than anyone can say "Aww, it made a funny!" I will hunt you down, take a big, spike-laden mace to your nutsack, and laugh myself silly when YOUR penis fails to work. For anything. Learn to love the colostomy bag, dipstick.


A note to boys:
When girls say they want a ‘tender’ man, they mean emotionally. They want you sensitive so they can break your spirit, crush your soul, flay your sensibilities raw, and re-mold you into their willing love-slave. Physically, they want you tough as steel and twice as hard. If we wanted something that went *squish* when we hugged them, we would grab ourselves a teddy bear or a tub of Rocky Road.


We, however, as women, owe it to ourselves to keep a layer of insulating padding around ourselves at all times, in order to protect ourselves from mishap (it don’t break if it can bounce) as well as sheltering any and all fetuses, if we choose to have them. I know I may be what’s called "unreasonable" or "unfair" but since when has life ever been fair? If you enjoy being tubby, laughing at dick jokes, and being lonely, by all means, continue in that same vein as long as it pleases you. If not, please, put It away, don’t let gluttony take away from precious Me Time (and by ‘Me’ I mean ME, not YOU,) and we’ll only ever want your lower extremities to come up in the conversation if there’s any problems we need to know about in order to make sure we stay satisfied. (Bleeding sores and other creepy growths must be reported IMMEDIATELY to Management (the woman) so that she may take you to the doctor, whose diagnosis will confirm her initial suspicions (which are always right anyhow,) and she may then dump you off at a male brothel, you sick cheating bastard. And no spreading strawberry jam on your breadstick to freak your woman out either, even as a joke. That WILL get you dumped, no matter how clean you may be.)


Viagra jokes and lazy, fat-arse boys…good things in today’s ‘accepting of all body-shapes and crude jokes’ society----------------------->GUNNED DOWN!

|

Tuesday, February 08, 2005

Planned Parenthood: The Unofficial Site

This site apparently encompasses perfectly the position of one of the children I've had the misfortune to come across in my babysitting stints of yore. I took one look at this and felt my ovaries spontaneously recoil, while my Fallopian tubes cried out in horror and begged to be tied.

Enjoy.


|

Thursday, February 03, 2005

These 'Ships Are Sinking...Thank God.

Against all my instincts as well as Jackie's warnings, I've only recently entered the realm of writing/reading fanfiction online. Now I can kind of see why I felt trepidation and Jackie, outright fear and anger.
I've seen some stuff I don't understand, and some stuff that kind of make me angry or confused, (Erik/Meg shippers,) but up until now I've been able to stomach it all with good grace.
Until now.
Undoubtedly in my mind, the sickest and most wretched of fanfic writers are the Harry Potter fans. Just look at this list of combinations. I haven't read past book 3, and parts of book 4, seen only the first movie, and even then it was a downloaded result of someone smuggling their camcorder into the theatre. Even so, I understand most of these pairings and a few of them just made me gag out of sheer horror. (Namely, Lucius/Hermione and Harry/Lily or Lucius/Draco.) So pale freaky looking old men with young girls because they want to mold their minds, and then that's plain incest, respectively. There's taking a story and playing with it to amuse yourself, but there comes a point where you're crossing boundaries into the dark realms of the illegal. I know it's all in your head, but when you post it online and a surprising amount of people back you up with so-called 'evidence' for your spin-off, I get a lil' bit worried that your mum's been over-medicating you again, my dears. Now sometimes it's funny to think these things that you know EVERYONE is thinking at some point (Snape/Draco, *snerk*,) but you never, ever, say them aloud!
God, what IS is with Lucius? He's being paired (read: whored out) with every minor character in the series! Neville, Percy, Bill...and what is with Lily coming back from the dead to hit on characters like Ginny? Even I know this is wrong people! I, who know next to NOTHING of the series, know that the mental images connected with a Harry/Hagrid 'ship are plain disturbing!
Now the most disturbing 'ship I've seen on that entire list has to be the Lucius/Harry pairing otherwise entitled 'Power and Pride' (a title which conjured up images of a bad bodice-buster novel with a strong-willed redhead heroine being seduced by a dark broadchested warlord with a scarred past.) Now it's not necessarily the entire thread revolving around this 'ship--although God knows this one has at least a few years of therapy in its aftermath--that got my goat, so to speak; it's more the people who are initiating and supporting it. Now I don't necessarily want to go after any ONE person in particular, but dear God I can't help it in this case. Note the instigator, one Rhysenn. With every answer I got regarding this entire debacle I found about 5 new questions, and in search for the answers I stumbled across his LiveJournal.
Oh. Holy. Fuck.
The poor guy has a boyfriend who looks like a Kenny G figure who's fallen on hard times. Or maybe a Benjamin Bratt who lost his scissors and cannot cut his hair, no matter how much he wants to. (The profile shots aren't bad, he looks almost like Sandra Bullock with curly hair.) But back to Rhysenn. He seems to have a penchant for supporting any and all disturbing slashy-type fics, most of which no doubt came out of his own head. While I applaud the imaginativity (is that a real word?) I have to question any and all evidence behind these kinds of claims. Granted, it's called SUB-text for a reason, (sub meaning 'under,') but I just can't help feeling it's all a rather shaky theory about Lucius and Harry. I haven't seen the trailers or movies and I don't spend much time reading anything into whatever Dan Radcliffe says or how he delivers his lines. However, our 30-something friend Rhysenn has deemed it fit for him to find Dan's seemingly chaste "Don't worry--I will be," hotter than a whore in hell. And others have found enough evidence in the Chamber of Secrets trailer to agree with him on this point.
'zed' said: "...there should be a rule banning 12 year old wizards from sounding so sexy. Harry's "Don't worry. I will be." was 100% non-canon, and that boy deserved to be spanked for using that tone on an adult - especially Lucius Malfoy." I know I may be flogging a dead horse here, but please note that you may be the first human EVER to use the words "12-year old wizard," "sexy," and "spanked" in the same train of thought. I just love how this blurs the line between reality and fantasy. Are we talking about Dan Radcliffe or Harry Potter? Either way it's sick and yet no one seems to care who it is exactly that they're lusting after and whetehr or not they actually exist outside of the dark recesses of their minds.
Rhysenn responded with an enthusiastic: "Ever since Dan's voice broke, he's got this extremely sexy low voice that makes *me* melt. Perhaps I'm transferring my cradle-snatcher instincts onto Lucius instead."
No shit, Sherlock.
The rest of it all was various horndogs commenting on the final scene in the trailer being chock-full of sexual tension and innuendo. I haven't seen it, but in my persistant, willfull naivete, I'm hoping, for all our sakes, that the innuendo was the witty/pithy kind people use in a non-sexual way during showdowns/gunfights/ninja-standoffs etc in the manner of James Bond or similar, and that the tension was the strain that can be expected in a scene of supressed violence between two arch-foes. Just because they're fighting doesn't mean they secretly love each other. Sometimes two people who hate each other...just plain HATE each other. No over-compensation or cover-ups...they just out-and-out hate each other. Rhysenn comments on how he wrote a Lucius/Harry fic subtitled 'Lucius Stealing His Son's Boyfriend" or something similar.
Now I don't want to go pissing off the male gay community, but ever consider that it's not all about you? I mean, somehow you find reason enough to take a freakin' CHILDREN'S BOOK and turn it into your own transgendered, pedophilic sausagefest because of so-called 'subtext' and 'implications' in the movie trailers. You must be the next generation of the people who played records backwards and heard messages from Satan/the dead/John Lennon/aliens.
Rhysenn even said it himself: "...surprisingly, people were... morbidly intrigued..."
Good God, people have even mentioned an all-male Malfoy threesome with Harry.
There are folks who take the time to write this down so they can share it with others who are interested?
Due to all this horror and extreme empathy I have felt on the part of little Danny Radcliffe, who has become an unwitting sex-object to men in their thirties, I hereby declare the formation of:

The Pity for Dan Radcliffe Club!

Using avatarity.com and my own pitiful skills with my Paint program, I have managed to make what I consider somewhat humourous and supportive icons for MSN convo pictures. I'll send some to you if you comment and ask for them. :)

Don't 'ship the L/H! Join me for the March on Washington to formally declare our rights to pity poor little Danny R, who shall henceforth only be referred to with the word "poor" in front of his name.

Fanfiction that verges on the illegal and wrong (not a good thing, IMHO,) ------> GUNNED DOWN!



Update a few minutes after posting: Against all my gut instincts, I delved deeper into Rhysenn's profile on LJ, hoping to discover the root of the problems here. And I discovered that I had made a grevious assumption based on the pictures on the LJ.
Rhysenn if a woman.
My sincere apologies to anyone offended by my taking them for a homosexual man. You might want to change your pictures there or put a disclaimer at the top of the page.
I still think L/H is eerily creepy.
Am I close-minded? Maybe. But I WAS willing to accept you as a gay dude. I figure that since it's the thought that counts, karmically-speaking, I'm off the hook, as it were, and nothing you can say or do will condemn me to re-incarnation as a tapeworm in Mary-Kate Olsen's intestines. (Feeeeeeed Meeeeeee!)