Won't Somebody Think of the Children...again...?
Okay, I wasn't planning on gunning down anything in particular in this post, but then I stumbled across todays VG Cats and saw that Scott Ramsoomair has already done it for me. Long may he live and you all ought to kiss his comic-genius-ass for this tidbit of sheer joy in wordless comedy. It rendered me helpless to the volley of giggles that erupted forth as I consumed this marvel. Let's face it. It's something we've all seen/wanted to see: debauched behaviour in broad daylight, with children in attendance whose minds have just been sullied and irrepairably traumatized by what they've witnessed. Now there are some kids I like, and doubtless I'll end up having my own someday and I'll like them because I will HOUSETRAIN them and teach them how to behave in public. On the whole, I dislike the children of this last generation who think they're so bloody entitled to everything. Makes me feel ancient to say it, but in MY day, we weren't anywhere NEAR as spoiled as the brats I encounter most of the time. Granted some kids of my age group are spoiled rotten tweens who go shopping every friggin weekend and sometimes during the week and blow 150 on a single pair of designer jeans (which contain not enough fabric to make a half-decent tank top,) and then complain because everything they have is shitty in their eyes. Try wearing some bright neon snowpants, and a tie-dye t-shirt and you'd be a king in an African village for having such awesome quality clothes. Brats will always be brats, but there's a severe increase lately in the number of brats I see walking the streets. And this worries me. So parents, make your kids behave, and if your ungrateful spawn whines about child-abuse the next time you tell them "no" for anything, sit them down and have a talk about what REAL child abuse is. Don't DEMONSTRATE it to them necessarily, (I'm not averse to well-deserved spankings, but I don't want a lawsuit at my doorstep if one of you takes a two by four to your toddler, then give me credit for the suggestion,) but explain to them how some children get jack shit in their stockings and recieve beatings if they spill a glass of juice or slam a door by accident. Kids these days learn everything from TV and magazines, so show them pictures if you can find any. It's these little things, the time taken out of your day to talk to them, and the visual presentations, that can strengthen your bond with your child as well as re-enforcing the fact that YOU are the adult, the parent, who makes the decisions. (There ARE crap parents out there, but the majority of them are fairly smart people who know right from wrong a helluva lot more than YOU, kidlets.) This is NOT debatable. Once you're solvent and a legal, self-serving adult in the eyes of the law (read: moved out, with a job, over 19, and NOT mooching off your parents at every oppourtunity,) THEN you can bitch about the rules and have them changed. It's called voting. Laws exist for a reason, and your parent's household rules are form of sub-law. So long as the parents CARRY THROUGH with their promises of punishment (whatever it may be) as a consequence for a deliberate flouting of the rules of right and wrong, kids will learn to respect their elders and become productive, independant members of society.
Then again, some kids fight the system any way they can.
Children (and this probably isn't the last time you've seen them here...no matter how many times we gun them down, a new generation keeps being born and coming back to life...) --------->GUNNED DOWN!

