England and Holland: A Death Struggle?
Okay. Here's the deal. I just wasted the better portion of my day in or travelling between here and the branch office of the Netherland's citizenship office. We all got there, early this morning, and with all our documents, and are then informed, (contrary to the letter we'd received,) that my brother and I did not, in fact, have to be present at the time for verification of our identities. THAT happens after the forms are sent to the central office in T.O. to be verified, stamped or made into origami, whatever the hell they do with their time there, and sent back to the branch office. This is not the fault of Canada. It is (sadly) the fault of the Dutch inner workings of their government, as well as the fault of my Dad's company for forcing him to relinquish his citizenship years ago so he could get a job with them, but that's all water under the bridge I suppose. I'm not angry at my countrymen (Dutchies,) I'm just....disappointed. But I read a bunch of pamphlets while I was waiting and now know lots of interesting facts about the Netherlands regarding working visas for au pairs, drug policies, and the entire history of the Dutch Royal Family. Apparently cannabis is legal to be used but illegal to be in possession of. This point always confused me. How can you smoke it or otherwise consume it without possessing it? Do you set it in front of you an a table, and without touching it, lean close in and inhale deeply? If it's in your hand, it's your possession. Unless you stole it. But seeing as you're probably already in deep shit for possessing the said MJ, you might not wanna try and get yourself off the hook by professing to have stolen it. There were no pamphlets regarding the red light district, which, along with the drugs, is one of the two main reasons most people visit Holland today. Why include the drugs in the scope of tourist information and paraphanalia if you're not going to offer them paid-for sex as well? I wonder if it's included on the menu for hotel room service.
"Our Soup of the Day is clam chowder. Today's Specials include the Eggs Florentine, the clubhouse sandwich, the steak Oscar, and a lovely Australian dame known as Shelia Blydge! Dial the front desk to order."
Honestly I think I once saw a travel program where they had what I can only describe as a sex "vending machine." Think of little rooms, with one wall made of glass, stacked on top of each other. Like pigeon holes or mail-boxes at offices. In each room, a different woman, dancing around in skimpy clothing, with a number displayed at the bottom of the window or something, You dial up the number of the girl you want and you get her ASAP. Kinda sick, but fascinating. A vending machine for human flesh. (And you thought you'd seen it all when Disney came out with a cartoon entitled The Story of Menstruation.) No joke. http://www.snopes.com/disney/films/menses.htm
Well, in the past, Holland has given me much to be proud of. Prostitutes and liberal drug policies aside, I've always admired their sharp intellect as a nation, their refusal to back down internationally, even though lots of other countries around (read: Germany) could easily annex them within a month. Their spirit, vivacity, and undying support of their monarchs gives the Dutch a history to be proud of and a future to look forward to. Their Royal family show's England's Royal Family how it's done! (Disturbing thought: I have fairly equal portions of English and Dutch blood in my family. Inner battle, much?)
Holland: I am ashamed of your poor written communication skills which involved me wasting my day in a smoggy fartbag of a city. Call me a traitor, but I find droppies (dropjes?) appallingly bad and I cannot tolerate any kind of black licorace. And I'm not too crazy about tulips, either.
England: Your Royal Family is ridi-damn-diculous. You have extraordinarily bad teeth as a nation, Prince Charles has the ears of an oragutan, and the majority of the populace have faces akin to those of most equine animals.
Not sure who wins this one but...
Trixie--you go, girl! Show Lizzie how it's done!
(I know I know I just totally insulted the chick who's visage graces our currency. But she never spent nigh unto 11 hours making a journey that turned out to be all for naught.)
I almost wish I was a napping kind of person. *yawns* Too awake to sleep, too tired to do anything more than go watch Mean Girls again.


Wednesday, December 29, 2004
Ten After Six in the MORNING?
Hell's bells. Just found out I have to leave my house at 6:10 am tomorrow morning. Which means any and all AtP updates/homework/anything will be delayed indefinitely until I get home. Which should be mid-afternoon. I have to go to some kind of embassy/office to get my Dutch passport, or to at least qualify for said passport/citizenship. Blergh. What kind ofbureaucratic office only operates between 9 am and 12:15 pm Monday to Friday except on Wednesdays? Oh, that's right, A GOVERNMENT-FUNDED ONE!!! What I wouldn't give for a cushy job like that. Usually I'm a morning person, but in this case I can make an exception, seeing that I don't count it as being morning unless there is some kind of natural LIGHT visible. I don't know about where you live, but during the winter, (yes even this close to the Artic Circle,) 'mornings' around 6 am tend to be black as the proverbial abyss. Now, if I lived here:
http://www.kkbedbath.com/sunrise.jpg
...seeing the sunrise might not be so bad.
However.
Seeing as it is often grey, cold, and cloudy where I live, and vegetation consists mostly of scrubby evergreens with cones and needles, the likelyhood of me standing on a sandy beach listening to whispering palms and watching the sun rise over the already warm ocean with it's gentle waves is slim to none. Beaches are rocky, windswept, and wave action could kill you in some places. Greenery grows no where near the water's edge, and salt leaching in the soil will kill any hardy plant that dares try and eke out a living along the shoreline.
Simply put:
I wish I was in Hawaii.
And that government would stop putting up so much damn red tape just because I wanna be legally Dutch; thus forcing me to get up an an unGodly hour to traverse a great area to get to their tiny office that's inconveiniently located and who's operating hours are only good for those who have nothing else to do with their mornings.
Can't wait 'till I get to vote in the next provincial election.
Shut UP, Liberals. I'm not French-Canadian, nor of any visible minority, (sadly. I wish I were EI;) and I will most likely end up working hard to make my living in the future. Thus I will not benefit from voting for you, given than you only cater to the whining non-taxpayers. Squeaky wheel may get the grease, but this hard-working, 'normal' wheel is gunna fly right off the axis when you least expect it!
posted by Em @ 7:37 PM 0 comments
We Be Hataz, Yo!
Over a period of weeks, I have constructed this flow-chart of the Jackie/Em thought-process in a sort of stream-of-conciousness list. Only less abstract--just barely less abstract.)Jackie: I'm bored. And afraid of the flames!
Em: Afraid of the flames? I'm afraid of staple guns. And pretty much any small objects flying at my face.
Jackie: No. Afraid of the flames I'll burst into the second I walk into a church. I haven't been in a year. The Big Guy frowns on that, doesn't he?
Em: (In all her Anglican/Episcopalian wisdom) Ahhh I've never seen that happen before. The flames that is. And I've met with a lot of C&E's in my life
Jackie: c&e?
Em: christmas and easter 's. Organized religion's answer to those who come but twice a year to save their morally bereft souls
Jackie: we called them: "Twice a Years"
Em: Yeah. But you know the people I mean
Jackie: mmmmhm
Em: usually they're just annoying
Jackie: The reason Christmas sermons aren't enjoyable
Em: Yeah. It'd be so much nicer if they just didn't bother J
ackie: the kids of the devout Christians
Em: There’d be room left for the old people who come regularly
Jackie: mmmhm
Em: Unlike the young families with 6 brats who don't know how to behave in public, much less church, who arrive an hour too early and save seats for their entire extended family by draping their coats and diaper bags over every pew in the first 5 rows, as well as all the choir seats. The old people are relegated to fold-out seats in the middle of the centre aisle at the back of the church.
Jackie: Yup. I hate those people Em: And the kids are dressed "for church" but they look positively ill, with the girls inevitably wearing some kind of festive headband or scrunchie from the 80's, the boys in mini suits, and the girls in some ugly ass crushed velvet dress and white tights and black shoes with gaudy leather bows
Jackie: Christmas-Hate: When EVERYONE thinks they can release a Christmas CD. No, you can't.
Em: *shudders* now I can't get the idea of Mariah Carey out of my head with the Christmas CD crap. Is she dead yet?
Jackie: Ummm nope.
Em: damn. Hope for a Christmas miracle of some sort, then.
Jackie: we need death pools this year
Em: Indeed we do. But now that Hope is gone there seems little point in trying to match one with the Pope
Jackie: oh no, hope still here
Em: Bob burns eternal?
Em: Damn I'm cold. Hey there's another thing I hate about Christmas: We never get a white one, and yet, we freeze our asses off.
Jackie: Bribing children to support the homeless. What the hell kind of values are these? "Bring in food to help starving kids, and you'll get a pizza party!" Screw you pizza party and your capitalist ways!
Em: and it's not "GREEN" where the hell is it ever GREEN in December? After the scorching heat of August, everything turns brown! It's a BROWN Christmas. Oh geez, the can drives. Hate for the can drives.
Jackie: And our school’s sad turnout.
Em: *snickers* yeah. We suck.
Jackie: One class in {rival school} had 600 cans. BY ITSELF.
Em:…Holy Shit {Rival School}!!!
Jackie: Yeah. ONE CLASS
Em: We need to give them condoms or something. They've obviously run out of ways to amuse themselves.
Jackie: hee hee
Em: Wait...did I just imply that our school is slutty and could care less about academic pursuits? ...and supporting the homeless in the Christmas season??? *balks* I'm a bad Anglican.
Jackie: Nah. Just a realist
Em: Tithing just got shot to hell. A realist? Damnit, my career as a fiction writer is over, then. Curse you, Christmas! You ruined my shot at the big-time with your inexorable taunting and provocation of my cynicism! Cuuuuuurse Yoouuuuuuuu!
Jackie: hee hee. You know what else I hate?
Em: What?
Jackie: the evil personification of fruit cake.I LIKE fruit cake, when made well. Some people have never even had it but "know" it's evil. My mom makes a killer fruitcake
Em: GAH! *twitch* I just hate candied fruit period. Hot cross buns, I just can't eat. Candied orange peel is the closest I think I ever got to liking dried, sugary hard tarry bits of fruit that have unnatural colours and consistencies and stick to your teeth for hours. Baby Jesus is cool, though. I'll bet HE hated candied fruit too. Your mom is nice.
Jackie: how do you know my mom?
Em: I met her at the Christmas fair, remember? And the rest of the brood…
Em: (days later, we somehow get on the topic of hairstyles) What if you got a bob hair cut?
Jackie:I hate bobs.
Em: Yeah no one really looks good in a bob. That’s why I hate pictures of people from the 1920’s. And a large portion of the Chinese population. *pause* Not that I hate the Chinese people. Just their choice of the same hairstyle for everyone. It never works on anyone. No one looks good with a bob. I love veggie eggrolls and plum sauce. China – I love you!
Jackie: Smile’s back.
Em: Are you smiling at my accidental offending of the Chinese people due to my lack of political correctness and lapse in sentence structure that turned out sounding like a really bad racial comment?
Jackie: Yup.
Em: I really don’t hate anyone…*open mouth, insert foot* Wow this is really far off the topic of Christmas and what we hate about it. More of a plain list of Things We Hate.
Jackie: I have no problem with that.
posted by Em @ 4:41 PM 0 comments